Posted in Crafting, Uncategorized

Bottle opener plaques

I inherited a bunch of old bottle openers that used to be installed in out hotel rooms where I work.  They’re the little metal ones you screw into the wall.  I wanted to make some gifts for Christmas for my finances brothers for when they have their own man caves.  So I headed out to Michele’s and found some small wooden plaques for $5 each.  

 
So I will admit that the wood I chose wasn’t strong enough.  I wasn’t sure how I was going to reinforce the plaques but I wanted to proceed with the project and figure the rest out later.  As I was making these for specific people I thought I would keep it simple and just put their initials on each of their plaques.  So I picked my colours and traced each of their initials out and got to painting.

  
I had some old wood left over in my garage so I had my fiancé cut me a couple and I used them to reinforce the plaques.  I painted the backs black as well but I didn’t bother with the wood finish.  I only put wood finish on the front of the plaques.  I used wood glue to stick the pieces of wood together as I knew once I screwed the bottle openers on it would also help with the reinforcement.

  
Then I drilled screw holes into the plaques and ensured they didn’t go through the letters in the front of the plaques.  As the bottle openers were extremely rusty, I did buy spray paint to paint them chrome and hide the rustiness.  The bottle openers look like new!

  

Tada! My gifts are complete! New I just need to come up with the perfect idea for my own bottle opener design!

Author:

Lover of coffee, cats, wine and DIY <3

Leave a Reply

