Surprise – 2 pink lines

Today marks 4 weeks pregnant.  When my period was late, I didn’t think that I was actually pregnant.  I had a couple bouts of spotting when I was supposed to get my period, and a couple days of spotting leading up to it.  Spotting has always been normal for me; my period has been irregular for quite some time and I think it was due to the amount of stress I was under for the past year.  However, when I looked at my period tracker app and it said 6 days late, but my boobs were tender, I got a little bit nervous.  I thought it was coming because my boobs always get tender leading up to my period, but it just didn’t.  Spotting stopped and my period never started.

Finally, I went and bought a pregnancy test.  Sure enough, two pink lines appeared.  My boobs are tender because that’s the first sign of pregnancy.  My mind was spinning.  I didn’t plan for this, I wasn’t prepared for this.  I don’t even know how to handle this news.  I had a few good cries.  And to think they suggested removing my uterus and left me with a feeling of not being able to get pregnant.

Now it’s time to accept and embrace.  I’m having a baby.  It still doesn’t feel real.  I have my first doctor’s appointment on Wednesday and maybe that’s when things will start to sink in?  So, I wanted to document how I’ve felt throughout this process because I couldn’t find much out there with regards to adenomyosis and pregnancy.  There is a lot of ‘high risk’ concerns but no ‘real life’ stories.  I’m completely terrified because I have no idea what to expect.  I’m nervous because I feel like my body is still healing from my previous issues.  Now, I have to change my entire mentality.

One morning on my way to work, I had a wave of nauseous come over me.  I thought I was going to puke in my car and have to turn around.  It was the weirdest feeling for me because I never get sick.  I might get a cold because I’m under a lot of stress but I can’t tell you the last time I had the flu.  The feeling passed and the rest of the work day was fine.  That was before I knew I was pregnant.  Once I found out, everything made sense.

During my 3rd -4th weeks of pregnancy, I had never felt more tired in my life.  I’m a very active and energetic person, I go to the gym daily and I love playing sports.  I couldn’t do any of that.  I could barely make it through the work day and I was now going to sleep by 9pm at the latest.  I had only one other wave of nauseous in the morning which passed.  My tummy has been very active though.  Feels like there’s constant grumblings going on.  Sometimes it’s like baby cramps and feels like your body is trying to digest, but it’s constantly feeling like that, not just after meals.  Nothing painful or unbearable.

I think I’ve worked out 3-4 times in the last two weeks.  My body does feel tired all the time.  I am taking it very slow as I’ve read the first trimester is very taxing on the body.  I’m hoping that as I progress through, I will be able to keep my activity levels up at the gym throughout this pregnancy.

My Goals:

  • Stay active
  • Be positive
  • Embrace
  • Research
  • Keep my hormonal outbursts in check
  • Don’t panic
  • Document the process

You can follow along in my bump process through Instagram here

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.